What Is A Double Dribble In Basketball?

What Is A Double Dribble In Basketball?

The NBA penalizes players for double dribbling. Players are not allowed to double dribble on their teammate. If the defender catches a pass while in possession of the ball, he cannot use his hands to push the ball or pass it again.

In basketball a double dribble is when the ball touches the hand of an opposing player without the ball first coming off the passer’s hand.

What is a Double Dribble Violation?

The rules suggest that a player can’t stop and hold the ball with two hands in order to continue dribbling, but it is perfectly legal to do so in practice, especially when there isn’t someone close by to be hit by a dribbled ball. This is the reason why a double dribble is called as such. If a player dribbles the ball twice, the ball motion is continuous and not split into two separate motions.

According to the NBA rulebook, you are only allowed to double dribble if the ball comes to a rest and the player touches it twice before it touches the floor. If the ball comes to a rest, and he touches it twice, the player gets a double dribbling foul.

Other players

The following list shows players who have received double dribbling calls and are not listed as the primary recipient of the call.

Examples of a Double Dribble During a Basketball Game

A dribble-stop violation occurs when a player stops dribbling and holds the ball with one or two hands. This start-and-stop action can happen in a few scenarios. One example is if a player receives a pass, dribbles, stops, and then dribbles again to get around a defensive player.

But if a player were to dribble once, fake a pass attempt and then immediately dribble again after a stop, in that case they can continue dribbling and get that penalty. Because the player’s original dribble was a fake pass, it is acceptable for them to go back to dribbling after getting the foul.

Why is Double Dribbling Illegal in Basketball?

The game’s movement rules are designed to encourage players to move with the ball at a reasonable pace. If a team wants to move the ball around the court quickly, then it has to do so by passing it. The only penalty is that a pass can’t be caught. If a player can dribble the ball without moving it more than 5 m/s, then it’s likely that they are doing more damage than good.

Dribble rules also allow teams to play effective defense, causing a steal or fumbles during passing, resulting in exciting plays. A quick steal via someone dribbling can be a massive momentum shift for one team. Just like in American Football, sometimes a great defense is also a great offense.

The same is true for the reverse. The play is called “reverse” because the initial direction of movement is backwards.

What Happens When a Player Double Dribbles?

If a defensive team throws in during a game play, the offensive team has the opportunity to get the ball at the point on the court where it is thrown in. There are leagues like the NBA where a team could receive the ball at the free throw line, but there is no rule where the defensive team has to throw in the ball.

In basketball, teams can only throw in the ball when it is in play. This can result in a fast paced game of defense and offense. This game is different from other sports such as football, because the offense is only given 10 seconds to score points instead of 14.

Similar Penalties in Basketball

In double dribbles it’s not unusual for the dribbler to carry the ball with one hand and put his other hand on his hip or chest. In the photo, you can see he’s carrying his ball with his right hand and putting his left hand over his chest. That allows him to maintain balance and control of the ball.
A carry is when you carry the ball with one or more hands. It can be the dribbler’s left hand or right hand that has the ball at all times that he is in motion. As the dribbler carries the ball, you can see his body is mostly vertical. This is very different from the side-to-side motion that you see in a double dribble.

Controversy Regarding Double Dribbles in the NBA

Critics of the NBA find that referees over-call the double dribble foul. The definition of this foul is also fairly simple, so the decision doesn’t take much analysis. There is one thing that should be mentioned, however, which is that when a basketball player is dribbling the ball with two hands, the player should not be allowed to put the ball down (pass) at any time. This is because by putting the ball down (passing) the player is changing his dribble and this is an illegal move in the basketball game. For the fans, it is easy to identify these kinds of fouls.

You said some people use this as a reason. I think this might not be what you want to hear, but this is an interesting theory. I guess that is how this works. But it is not the only reason why NBA players have been less successful in international play recently.

Not allowing players to focus on movement and ball-handling skills is a bad habit that could stunt a player’s development. If players want to perform at a high level, they need to practice the game’s fundamental mechanics.

Conclusion: What is Double Dribbling in Basketball?

NBA has a rule called double dribbling, if a player is in possession of the ball, then the referee can call double dribbling if the player pauses and then continues dribbling. If called, the player has committed two traveling violations and the basket awarded to the other team.

You should now be able to recognize the trademark features of a double dribble. Once you get the knack, you will be able to recognize them before they are made. It may just be a matter of practice.

Similar Posts:

About the author

Johnny is dedicated to providing useful information on commonly asked questions on the internet. He is thankful for your support ♥

Leave a Comment